Weather Forecast

Dave Cain of Corcoran races to victory in Heat 4 of the Modified Special in his first time on the Willmar oval this season Thursday at KRA Speedway. He then held off Eric Martini and Shane Sabranski to win the 22-car main for the opening-night victory of the Sizzling Summer Nights Advantage RV Modified Tour, which continued last night in Montevideo, at Huron, S.D., tonight and Watertown, S.D. Sunday. Tribune photo by Rand Middleton

105 cars show up for Nelson memorial at KRA Speedway

Email News Alerts

WILLMAR — They came from Wisconsin, South Dakota and even a car from Nebraska, and, of course, all over Minnesota for the KRA Speedway races Thursday night on a perfect evening weather-wise.


It would have made the late Charlie Nelson proud. And reinforced what he always said.

Get the full story
Subscribe or Log In

Are you a newspaper subscriber but you don't have a Digital Access account yet? Activate your account.

You will need your subscription account number and phone number. Not sure if you have an account? Email us or call 320-214-4364 and we can help you.

Rand Middleton

Covers Willmar and area high schools and Ridgewater College, plus amateur baseball, stock car racing and fitness events in summer. Writes weekly column since 1980. Began working in radio and at weekly newspaper in Munising, Michigan, in 1972. Started parttime at West Central Daily Tribune Sept. 1974. Fulltime beginning Feb. 1979. Married to Tribune news clerk Donna (Miller) Middleton, formerly of Kerkhoven. 2 grown children. 

(320) 214-4334