Weather Forecast


Dayton takes veto pen to number of bills, spending proposals

ACGC earns 6th straight state trip

sports Willmar,Minnesota 56201
West Central Tribune
ACGC earns 6th straight state trip
Willmar Minnesota 2208 Trott Ave. SW / P.O. Box 839 56201

KIMBALL -- Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City will go to its sixth straight state wrestling meet after beating Browerville/Eagle Valley 37-20 in the Section 5A championship Friday.

The Falcons advanced to the final by beating Eden Valley-Watkins 50-9 in one of the semifinals. BEV tipped Paynesville 29-23 in the other semifinal.

ACGC won four matches in a row, starting with Ryan Larson's win at 145 pounds and ending with Micah Larson's pin at 171 pounds in 3:17.

BEV had won three of the first five matches, but Matt Meyer won a major decision at 135 pounds to give the Falcons a 12-11 lead.

Dylan Nelson put an emphatic end to ACGC's run to the state meet, which is March 4-7 at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, with a pin at heavyweight.

Also winning by fall for ACGC were Jesse Whitcomb at 103 and Travis Frederiksen at 152.


ACGC 37, Browerville/EV 20

103: Jessie Whitcomb, A, pin Ridge Quistorff 2:33

112: Travis Borchert, B, dec Larry Bomstad 8-2

119: Hayden Rouser, A, dec Randy Shamp 8-2

125: Julius Stone, B, tcfl Matt Lee 23-8

130: Tyler Spychalla, B, dec Scott Litzau 8-7

135: Matt Meyer, A, maj Brad Schettler 10-0

140: Brian Denny, B, dec Michael Kramer 12-5

145: Ryan Larson, A, dec Mitch Shumann 6-4

152: Travis Frederickson, A, pin Keith Pudwill 1:47

160: Travis Whitcomb, A, dec Lucas Kalina 3-1

171: Micah Larson, A, pin Justin Bollin 3:17

189: Nate Becker, B, dec Daron Buboltz 5-2

215: Nathan Thielen, B, dec James Nelson 3-2

285: Dylan Nelson, A, pin Lucas Maschler 1:40


ACGC 50, EVW 9

The Falcons cruised to seven straight wins to start the dual. Jesse Whitcomb at 103 pounds and Dylan Nelson at heavyweight won by fall for ACGC.

103: Jesse Whitcomb, A, pin Cain Renner 5:01

112: Hayden Rouser, A, dec Shawn Mattsen 6-4

119: Matt Lee, A, dec Spencer Faber 4-2

125: Scott Litzau, A, maj Jacob Forcier 8-0

130: Matt Meyer, A, tcfl Austin Peterson 17-1

135: Michael Kramer, A, dec Jaron Faber 8-3

140: Ryan Larson, A, dec Jeff Dockendorf 5-2

145: Mike Downham, E, dec Nate Meyer 8-4

152: Travis Frederickson, A, won by forfeit

160: Travis Whitcomb, A, dec Tyler Magadanz 3-1

171: Micah Larson, A, tcfl Brandon Walz 16-0

189: Deron Buboltz, A, dec Jacob Asfeld 7-1

215: Joe Holdvogt, E, pin James Nelson :41

285: Dylan Nelson, A, pin Blaine Meierhofer :56

Browerville/EV 29, Paynesville 23

Browerville/Eagle Valley won four of the last six matches.

103: Cole Woehler, P, pin Ridge Quistorff 1:44

112: Travis Borchert, B, dec Dylan Sheridan 5-0

119: Randy Shamp, B, dec Trevor Spanier, 5-2

125: Julius Stone, B, dec Josh Hiepler 6-0

130: Tyler Spychalla, B, tcfl Brent Schlangen 15-0

135: Jon Kerzman, P, pin Brad Schettler 3:50

140: Brian Denny, B, dec Mathew Doom 5-1

145: Justin Wendlandt, P, maj Mitch Schumann 14-2

152: Keith Pudwill, B, dec Eric Wolbeck 5-1

160: Lucas Kalina, B, dec Tyler Hemmesch 5-3

171: Nate Becker, B, dec Michael Doom 3-2

189: Andrew Moser, P, maj Justin Bollin 12-2

215: Nathan Thielen, B, dec Trey Stanger 6-4

285: Dominick Platow, P, dec Ross Bolin 6-4