Weather Forecast


ACMC honors Firkins Smith with its award of excellence

WILLMAR -- Dr. Cindy Firkins Smith, an active member of the Dermatology Department at Affiliated Community Medical Centers of Willmar, has received the second annual ACMC Physician Excellence Award.

ACMC created this distinguished award to annually honor an outstanding ACMC physician for his or her leadership, innovation, clinical knowledge and dedication to patients and communities served by ACMC.

Nominations were made by fellow physicians. This year's top three nominees were Firkins Smith, Dr. Richard Rasmussen, ACMC-Willmar, and Dr. Vincent LaPorte, ACMC-Marshall. The executive committee forwarded the top three nominations to the board of directors, which selected the winner based on the individual's contributions and accomplishments.

"Dr. Firkins Smith is highly respected by her colleagues and other medical professionals for her deep commitment to providing excellent patient care," said ACMC Medical Director Dr. David Newcomer. "Her ability and dedication to help and support others is far reaching; it goes beyond our clinic walls. ACMC is extremely proud to honor her with the 2009 Physician Excellence Award."

Firkins Smith began her career at ACMC-Willmar in 1990. She served on the ACMC board from 1994 to 2003; served on the American Academy of Dermatology, Non-Physician Practice of Medicine Task Force from 2005 to 2008; is past vice president, past president and is current historian on the Minnesota Dermatologic Society; served on the Minnesota Medical Association Board of Trustees, Legislative Affairs Committee and Health Care Reform Oversight Task Force; is past secretary, vice president and president of the Mid-Minnesota Medical Society; and serves on the MEDPAC Board of Trustees.

Other accomplishments include:

- Former American Medical Association/Glaxo Wellcome New Leadership Development Scholar for "Up and Coming Physician Leaders.''

- University of Minnesota Department of Dermatology adjunct faculty member 1990-present.

- Resident Recruitment and Interview Committee 1998-present.

- 2008 Resident Teacher of the Year.

- Advocacy in rural medicine, patient safety and health care reform.

- Author of legislation on restrictions on the use of tanning booths by minors.

- Coauthor of legislation on laser patient safety.

Firkins Smith received a crystal statue and a donation to the charity of her choice. Her name and photograph will be placed on a public plaque along with past and future award winners.

ACMC is a multispecialty health network of 11 medical clinics in west central and southwest Minnesota with more than 150 physicians and mid-level providers in 28 specialty areas.