Weather Forecast

Close
Advertisement

Air France plane hits turbulence and disappears

Email News Alerts

PARIS (AP) -- Air France says the Airbus jet that disappeared en route from Rio de Janeiro to Paris sent an automatic signal indicating electrical problems while going through an area of strong turbulence.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Air France says in a statement the plane that carried 228 on board "crossed through a thunderous zone with strong turbulence" at 0200 GMT Monday (10:00 p.m. EDT Sunday).

It says "an automatic message was received at 0214 GMT (10:14 p.m. EDT Sunday) signaling electrical circuit malfunction."

It says the 216 passengers included one infant, seven children, 82 women and 126 men.

It says the plane entered service in 2005 and last underwent maintenance April 16.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
randomness