Weather Forecast


Aug. 17 is the filing deadline in small towns and area school districts

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts

news Willmar, 56201

Willmar Minnesota 2208 Trott Ave. SW / P.O. Box 839 56201

WILLMAR -- Don Thorpe of rural Willmar has filed to run for the Willmar School Board.

Thorpe was the first person to file to run for the board, which will have three seats up for election this fall. Election Day is Nov. 2.


Incumbents Dion Warne, Brad Schmidt and Mike Carlson previously announced that they would not run for re-election.

Filing for offices in school districts and small cities without primaries opened statewide on Tuesday and will close on Aug. 17.

Filing for statewide offices and local offices that do have primaries was in May. The state primary is Tuesday.

Most, but not all school districts and cities in west central Minnesota have seats on the ballot this fall. Some townships in the area will hold their elections this fall, too.

In Kandiyohi County, filing is open for city offices in Atwater, Blomkest, Kandiyohi, Lake Lillian, New London, Pennock, Prinsburg, Raymond, Regal, Spicer and Sunburg. In most cases, a mayor and two members of the city council will be elected.

Willmar will elect a mayor and four members of the council this fall. Filing for those seats was in May.