Weather Forecast


Butterfield elected chairmain of the Kandiyohi County Board

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts

news Willmar, 56201

Willmar Minnesota 2208 Trott Ave. SW / P.O. Box 839 56201

WILLMAR — In an election by his peers, Kandiyohi County Commissioner Jim Butterfield was elected chairman for 2014 during the board’s reorganizational meeting Tuesday.


Butterfield, who is from Willmar and represents District 1, has served on the County Board of Commissioners since 2011.

His term expires at the end of this year.

This is Butterfield’s first time serving as chairman.

Commissioner Dean Shuck, of Sunburg, was selected to serve as the vice chairman.

Shuck, who represents District 3, has served on the board since 2002.

Shuck’s term also expires at the end of 2014.

The board also made appointments to various county committees and on a 4-1 vote selected the West Central Tribune as the official newspaper. Commissioner Roger Imdieke cast the lone no vote.

The commissioners voted unanimously to name the Raymond-Prinsburg News as the secondary official paper.