Weather Forecast


Willmar's Recall Ron Committee submits petition to recall City Council member Christianson

Larry Bomstad, ACGC senior, had beaten Pierz sophomore Kolten Eischens in February and repeated the victory with a second period pin for his second consecutive State tournament championship at 145-pounds. Bomstad finishes 49-0 after a 45-0 mark as a junior.

Class A Wrestling: Three Falcons claim state championships

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports Willmar,Minnesota 56201
West Central Tribune
(320) 235-6769 customer support
Class A Wrestling: Three Falcons claim state championships
Willmar Minnesota 2208 Trott Ave. SW / P.O. Box 839 56201

ST. PAUL -- Three ACGC Falcon wrestlers brought home Class A state championships on Saturday during the Minnesota State Wrestling Tournament at the Xcel Energy Center.


Larry Bomstad capped an undefeated season and defended his state crown with a pin of Pierz' Kolton Eischens in 2 minutes, 28 seconds.

Logan Peterson, the Falcons' 152-pounder, won his title with a 4-2 decision over Harvey Friedrichs, of Chatfield.

Lucas Damm also won his second-straight state championship with an 8-3 win over Kimball's Austin Schielbein at 220 pounds.

Minnewaska Area's Ryan Stottler takes home a second-place medal. Stottler fell to Jackson County Central's Keegan Moore in the 170-pound match.

Here are the results of the Class A state championship matches:

106 -- Skylar Hieronimus, Adrian Area dec. Brock Buysse, Minneota-Lincoln HI 2-1.

113 -- Austin Anderly, LeSueur-Henderson dec. Jared Goldsmith, Chatfield 7-5.

120 -- Cameron Sykora, Border West tech fall Spencer Jenniges, Wabasso/Red Rock Central 15-0.

126 -- Louie Sanders, Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial Area dec. Patrick Ramirez, Triton 11-6.

132 -- Quinten Berres, Kimball Area dec. Mason Moreno, Hayfield 6-4.

138 -- Hank Friederichs, Chatfield dec. Bryce Bruner, Minneota-Lincoln HI 4-0.

145 -- Larry Bomstad, Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City pinned Kolton Eischens, Pierz 2:28.

152 -- Logan Peterson, Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City dec. Harvey Friederichs, Chatfield 4-2.

160 -- Mitch Lange, Royalton/Upsala dec. Andrew Dayland, St. Charles 10-8.

170 -- Keegan Moore, Jackson County Central pinned Ryan Stottler, Minnewaska Area 5:16.

182 -- Niko Anderson, Fillmore C/Lanesboro/M-C dec. Colten Carlson, United South Central 4-3.

195 -- Nathan Rose, Sibley East major dec. Vince Johnson, Windom/Mountain Lake 11-3.

220 -- Lucas Damm, Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City dec. Austin Schielbein, Kimball Area 8-3.

285 -- Alex Schroepfer, Wabasso/Red Rock Central dec. Taylor Carlson, United North Central 9-5.

Tom Larson

Tom Larson is the sports editor of the West Central Tribune.

(320) 214-4372