Weather Forecast


Editorial: Re-elect Willmar's four School Board members

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
Willmar, 56201
West Central Tribune
(320) 235-6769 customer support
Willmar Minnesota 2208 Trott Ave. SW / P.O. Box 839 56201

Incumbents Wayne Lenzmeier, Shawn Mueske, Eric Roberts and Sandi Unger are seeking re-election to the Willmar School Board. Former School Board member Mike Reynolds and first-time candidate Don Thorpe are also seeking one of the four seats.


Lenzmeier, Mueske, Roberts and Unger have all performed well during their last terms. They have been part of the School Board that helped maintain the district's financial position and guided the district in a positive direction. They have a good mix of backgrounds: business owner, homemaker, college professor and retired teacher.

Reynolds is knowledgeable and has experience on the board. Thorpe has experience as a substitute teacher and a mail carrier. Unfortunately, neither has made a solid enough case for replacing one of the four incumbents.

The West Central Tribune endorses Lenzmeier, Mueske, Roberts and Unger for re-election to the Willmar School Board.