Weather Forecast


Some Dakota Access Pipeline opponents move to higher ground as camp closure looms

Four judgeships on ballot in 8th District

WILLMAR -- Voters in the Eighth Judicial District will see the names of four current judges on their ballots today.

All four judges are running unopposed in the 2012 election. The judges include Judge Donald M. Spilseth, who is chambered in Kandiyohi County; Judge Charles Glasrud, who is chambered in Stevens County; Judge Dwayne Knutsen, who is chambered in Yellow Medicine County; and Judge Gerald Seibel, who is chambered in Stevens County.

Spilseth was appointed in 1994 and was elected in 1994, 2000 and 2006. He is serving as a chief judge of the judicial district.

Knutsen was appointed in June 2010 and this is his first election.

Glasrud was appointed in 2011 and this is his first election.

Seibel was appointed to the bench in October 1992 and was re-elected in 1994, 2000 and 2006.

Minnesota's Eighth Judicial District consists of Big Stone, Chippewa, Grant, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Pope, Renville, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine counties.