Weather Forecast


Girls swimming & diving: 3 area swimmers move on to finals

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports Willmar, 56201
West Central Tribune
(320) 235-6769 customer support
Willmar Minnesota 2208 Trott Ave. SW / P.O. Box 839 56201

MINNEAPOLIS -- Marissa Warren of Litchfield and Bridget Opdahl of Morris/Minnewaska advanced to the championship finals in two events each Friday during the Class A State Swimming and Diving Meet preliminaries at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center.


Warren, a junior, placed third in the 100 backstroke with a time of 57.91 and sixth in the 100 butterfly with a time of 58.83. Opdahl, a senior, was fourth in the 50 freestyle with a time of 24.25 and fifth in the 100 freestyle with a time of 53.49.

Warren captured a bronze medal in last year's butterfly final and placed seventh in the backstroke championship.

Also advancing to a championship final was Litchfield's Anika Ellingson in the 100 breaststroke. The sophomore had a time of 1:07.31 to finish seventh.

Litchfield's 200 medley relay and 200 freestyle relay will compete in the consolation finals today, while Willmar's quartets in the same events failed to advance past the prelims.

Races start today at noon.

How area competitors fared

200 MEDLEY RELAY - (11) Litchfield: Greta Walsh, Anika Ellingson, Marissa Warren, Montana Linsmeier; 1:52.53 ... advances to consolation final (21) Willmar: Miranda Kuchta, Alycia Holwerda, Kennedy Holwerda, Rose Jackson; 1:55.37 ... eliminated

50 FREESTYLE - (4) Bridget Opdahl, Morris/Minnewaska, 24.25 ... advances championship final

100 BUTTERFLY - (6) Marissa Warren, Litchfield, 58.83 ... advances to championship final

100 FREESTYLE - (5) Bridget Opdahl, Morris/Minnewaska, 53.49 ... advances to championship final

200 FREESTYLE RELAY - (12) Litchfield: Sydney Weires, Marissa Warren, Greta Walsh, Montana Linsmeier; 1:42.45 ... advances to consolation final (21) Willmar: Miranda Kuchta, Alycia Holwerda, Kennedy Holwerda, Rose Jackson; 1:43.58 ... eliminated

100 BACKSTROKE - (3) Marissa Warren, Litchfield, 57.91 ... advances to championship final

100 BREASTSTROKE - (7) Anika Ellingson, Litchfield, 1:07.31 ... advances to championship final