Weather Forecast


Avian influenza strikes Stearns County turkey flock

A trio of Republicans listens Wednesday as their legislative leaders announce who will lead committees. Rep.-elect Sondra Erickson of Princeton will lead the House Education Reform Committee while Sen.-elect Doug Magnus of Slayton, right, will chair the Senate Agriculture Committee. In the middle is House majority leader-designate Matt Dean of Dellwood.

GOP committee chairman are a mix from across the state

Email News Alerts

ST. PAUL - New Republican Minnesota legislative leaders picked committee chairmen with a lot of time in the Capitol, with little legislative experience and from many parts of the state


As could be expected, Democratic strongholds like northeastern Minnesota, Minneapolis and St. Paul were shut out as the GOP Wednesday released its new chairmen roster.

Get the full story
Subscribe or Log In

Are you a newspaper subscriber but you don't have a Digital Access account yet? Activate your account.

You will need your subscription account number and phone number. Not sure if you have an account? Email us or call 320-214-4364 and we can help you.

Don Davis
Don Davis has been the Forum Communications Minnesota Capitol Bureau chief since 2001, covering state government and politics for two dozen newspapers in the state. Don also blogs at Capital Chatter on Areavoices.