Weather Forecast


The Insider

Ridgewater’s Karbo named to All-MCAC team; VanMoer selected to Second Team

Ridgewater College sophomore setter Tiffani Karbo (Balaton/TMB) has been named to the eight-player All-MCAC Volleyball Team. Karbo averaged a Southern Division-best 8.85 assists per game over 97 games.

Freshman outside hitter Tegan VanMoer (Marshall/Lakeview) was named to the Second Team. She ranked second in the South with 3.02 kills per game.

Additionally, sophomore libero/defensive specialist Taylor Sharp (Danube/RCW) and freshman outside hitter Jen Puncochar (Maple Lake) earned spots on the South Division Second Team.

Joe Sussenguth of Ridgewater and Amber Zitzow of Rochester were named co-Coaches of the Year in the South. Taylor Akre of Rochester was named the South’s Player of the Year.

Mustangs’ Thissen again on All-NSIC First Team

Southwest Minnesota State University sophomore Abbey Thissen (Clara City/MACCRAY) has been named to the 2013 Northern Sun Intercollegiate All-NSIC Volleyball First Team a second straight year.

The outside hitter leads SMSU with 373 kills, ranks second in blocks with 54 and is second in hitting percentage at .279. In the NSIC, Thissen ranks fourth in kills per set, fifth in points per set and fifth in hitting percentage.

The Mustangs are 21-6 this season and sit in third place in the NSIC with a 15-3 record.

Lady Warriors begin NJCAA title bid today

The Ridgewater College Lady Warriors begin pursuit of a NJCAA championship today, meeting Montgomery College of Rockville, M.D. at 12:30 p.m. at the Rochester Sports Center.

The winner moves to the semifinal round at 3:30 p.m. vs. the Central Lakes/Northhampton CC winner.

The tournament concludes Saturday with matches played for seventh, fifth and third followed by the championship match at 2:30 p.m.

16 Ridgewater players receive MCAC South football honors

Ridgewater College football players receiving All-Division recognition:

First team: WR Kevin Parks, LB Mickey McGuire, SS Adihia Bell, safety Hunter Smith; OL Craig Smith.

Second team: DB Deshon Johnson, DE Chris Hanson, LB Luke Branch, RB Martell Baker, FB Beau Stough.

Honorable Mention: DL Roy Johnson, OL Jaleen Carey, OL Daniel Stuewe, RB Jacobi Scruggs, RB Roosevelt Austin.

Kelvin Jones was honored as the All-Southern Division punter.

Willmar Elks Hoop Shoot is Nov. 23

The Elks National Hoop Shoot Contest for Willmar will be held Saturday, Nov. 23 at 1 p.m. at the senior high school.

Questions may be directed to Bill Schindele at 320-235-5771.