Weather Forecast


Koenen leads in Senate District 20 primary election

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
News Willmar,Minnesota 56201
West Central Tribune
(320) 235-6769 customer support
Koenen leads in Senate District 20 primary election
Willmar Minnesota 2208 Trott Ave. SW / P.O. Box 839 56201

WILLMAR -- As ballots are being counted in the special primary election held today in the seven west central Minnesota counties of Senate District 20, Rep. Lyle Koenen, DFL of Clara City, currently has the lead over DFLer John Schultz of Correll.

With 47 percent of the ballots reported to the Minnesota Secretary of State's office, Koenen has 754 votes and Schultz has 501 votes.

The winner will face off against Leon Greenslit, Independence Party of Olivia and Gregg Kulberg, R-Hector in a special election April 10.

The winner will succeed Sen. Gary Kubly, DFL of Granite Falls, who died March 2.

Carolyn Lange

A reporter for more than 30 years, Carolyn Lange covers regional news with the West Central Tribune.

(320) 894-9750