Weather Forecast


Avian flu: Public forum at 3 p.m. Saturday in Willmar with Dayton, other lawmakers


Lawton files for election to City Council in Willmar, Minn.

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
news Willmar, 56201
Willmar Minnesota 2208 Trott Ave. SW / P.O. Box 839 56201

WILLMAR -- Jay Lawton has filed for election to the Willmar City Council in Ward 4.

"I'm running because I believe I have a responsibility to help make good decisions for the community," he said Friday.


Lawton, who has lived in Willmar and worked for Jennie-O Turkey Store for 22 years, wants to bring new blood and new ideas to the City Council and "do my part to keep things moving."

Lawton ran for City Council in 2004 and lost to Jim Dokken. He then served on the city's Planning Commission for six years.

The term of current Ward 4 council member Jim Dokken expires at the end of 2012.

So far, incumbents Denis Anderson and Steve Ahmann have filed for re-election in Ward 1 and in Ward 3. Anderson, who is retired from Jennie-O Turkey Store, has served on the council since 1998. Ahmann served on the council from 1986 to 1994 and was reelected in 2008 and is the owner of Ahmann Construction.

In Ward 2, incumbent Tim Johnson and challenger Andrew Bjur have filed for election. Johnson is chief public defender for the 8th Judicial District and was elected to the council in 2008. Bjur is an architect with Engan Associates. He ran unsuccessfully against Ward 2 council member Ron Christianson in the 2010 election.

The filing period began May 22 and ends Tuesday.