Weather Forecast


Newman, Schiroo seeking Senate 18 seat


HUTCHINSON -- Incumbent Sen. Scott Newman, R-Hutchinson, and challenger Steven Schiroo, the DFL-endorsed candidate from Cokato, are seeking election to the Minnesota Senate seat in District 18.

District 18 includes all of Meeker, McLeod and Sibley counties, plus the city of Cokato and Cokato Township in Wright County.

Newman has served one term as the district's senator and previously served two terms in the state House of Representatives from District 18A from 2004 to 2007.

Are you a newspaper subscriber but you don't have a Digital Access account yet?

You will need your subscription account number and phone number. Not sure if you have an account? Email us at and we can help you.

Gretchen Schlosser

Gretchen Schlosser is the public safety reporter, and writes about agriculture occasionally, for the West Central Tribune. She's been with the Tribune since 2006 and has 17 years of experience working in news, media and communications. 

(320) 214-4373