Weather Forecast


Orono tops Litfchfield for 5AA baseball title

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports Willmar, 56201
West Central Tribune
(320) 235-6769 customer support
Willmar Minnesota 2208 Trott Ave. SW / P.O. Box 839 56201

ST. CLOUD -- The Orono Spartans beat Litchfield for the fourth time this year to claim the Section 5AA baseball title on Tuesday.

Orono bolted to a 6-0 lead in its first two at bats then withstood a spirited Dragons comeback to win 12-8.


Litchfield (15-11) loaded the bases in both the sixth and seventh but stranded all six runners.

Orono (18-7) outhit Litchfield 13-11. The Spartans, which went unbeaten in the tournament, had topped Litchfield twice in Wright County play and again on Monday in the winner's bracket.

Aaron Valiant, the losing pitcher, led the Litchfield offense with three hits. Nick Buschette, Shane Gutormson and Tyler Kielty had two hits each.

Derek Page and Ben Persian each went 3-for-4 for Orono; two of Page's hits were doubes.

Orono 12, Litchfield 8

Orono 244 001 1 -- 12 13 5

Litchfield 050 300 0 -- 8 11 3

HITTING - Orono: Andrew Miller 2-2, 2 runs rbi, Derek Page 3-4, 2 2b, 3 runs, rbi, Ben Persian 3-4, rbi ... Litchfield: Nick Buschette 2-4, 2 runs, 2b: Aaron Solbrack 1-4, rbi; Shane Gutormson 2-4, 2 rbi; Nick Johnson 1-4, rbi: Eric Hulterstrum 1-4, rbi; Tyler Kielty 2-4; Aaron Valiant 3-4, 2 runs, rbi

PITCHING (ip-h-r-er-bb-so) -- Orono: Brandon Walker 1Zc-3-4-0-0-0, Derek Page 2-3-4-3-2-0, Judson McKown (W) 3Xc-5-0-0-1-1 ... Litchfield: Aaron Valiant (L) 1Xc-5-6-5-3-1; Tyler Kielty 4-7- 5-5-2-2; Brady Smith 1Zc-1- 1-1-1-0