Weather Forecast


Polls are open today for special election in District 20

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
news Willmar, 56201
West Central Tribune
(320) 235-6769 customer support
Willmar Minnesota 2208 Trott Ave. SW / P.O. Box 839 56201

The polls are open this morning in State Senate District 20 where voters are choosing a successor to the late Sen. Gary Kubly of Granite Falls.


Kubly, a longtime DFL legislator, died last month after a battle with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or ALS. The winner of Tuesday's special election will fill the vacancy for the rest of the year.

Three candidates are on the special election ballot: Leon Greenslit, from Olivia, of the Independence Party, Lyle Koenen, DFL-Clara City and the district's current representative in the House; and Gregg Kulberg, a Republican from Hector.

The district covers Big Stone, Chippewa, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Renville, Swift and Yellow Medicine counties.

Most polling locations opened at 7 a.m. today. Some smaller precincts opened at 10 a.m.

All polls close at 8 p.m.

Follow WCTRIB.COM tonight for election results. Reports will be posted online as preliminary precinct results are filed with the Minnesota Secretary of State's office.

A state canvassing board for the District 20 special election will convene April 13 in St. Paul to certify official election results.