Weather Forecast


Global markets dive, Prime Minister David Cameron to resign after British vote to leave EU

Prep Girls Tennis: Eagles win own invitational

MADISON -- A day after clinching the West Central South Conference without even playing, unbeaten Lac qui Parle Valley/Dawson-Boyd beat River Valley 5-2 and Montevideo 5-0 Saturday at a triangular it hosted.

Staying unbeaten on the year were Patricia Ott and Kelle Thompson, LQPV/DB's top two singles players. Both won in straight sets against River Valley before pairing to play 1-doubles against West Central South Conference rival Montevideo. Ott and Thompson didn't lose a game as teams played five doubles matches.

Also winning in straight sets for LQPV/DB (18-0) were Lindsay Hansen (3-singles and 4-doubles), Marina Risch (4-singles and 4-doubles) and Katie Hutt/Kylie Jahn at 2- and 3-doubles.

Montevideo beat Benson/KMS Friday in a WCS match to give LQPV/DB the conference title.

LQPV/DB 5, River Valley 2


(1) Patricia Ott, L, def. Becky Reiger 6-2, 6-2 (2) Kelle Thompson, L, def. Rebecca Hinderman 6-1, 6-0 (3) Lindsay Hansen, L, def. Lauren Laffen 6-1, 6-0 (4) Marina Risch, L, def. Erika Ries 6-4, 6-1


(1) Aileen Roman/Emily Johnson, R, def. Michelle Olson/Tiffani Hastad 6-1, 7-5 (2) Katie Hutt/Kylie Jahn, L, def. Larissa Krebs/Amber Ness 6-1, 6-1 (3) Marlayna Ebert/Kaylyn Haas, R, def. Anna Dvorak/Whitney Schwenk 6-7 (6-8), 7-6 (7-4), 10-8

LQPV/DB 5, Montevideo 0


(1) Patricia Ott/Kelle Thompson, L, def. Catherine Haugen/Sierra Frazer 6-0, 6-0 (2) Michelle Olson/Tiffani Hastad, L, def. Rose Reinert/Chelsie McCormick 6-4, 6-3 (3) Katie Hutt/Kylie Jahn, L, def. Lindsey Moe/Jessa Kack 6-2, 6-1 (4) Lindsay Hansen/Marina Risch, L, def. Paige Jorgenson/Tina Lipinski 6-2, 6-2 (5) Anna Dvorak/Whitney Schwenk, L, def. Kailey Maroney/Natasha Smith 6-1, 6-7 (6-8), 10-6

Litchfield Invite

Litchfield's 2-doubles team of Emma Lemke/Rachel Fredman placed second during the eight-team tournament. Kalley Spreiter at 4-singles and Alissa Holmgren/Anna Johnson at 1-doubles were crowned consolation champions for the Dragons.

Owatonna edged Delano to win the team title.

Team scoring

(1) Owatonna 33 (2) Delano 30 (3) Melrose 18 (4) Staples-Motley 17 (5) Litchfield 16 (6) St. Peter 15 (7) Crookston 13 (8) Benson/KMS 5

How Area Teams Fared



(1) Kayla Rosenow 1-2 (2) Kaity Johnson 1-2, 4th place (3) Chantal Nivaud 1-1, Krista Miller 0-1, 4th place (4) Kalley Spreiter 2-1, consolation champion


(1) Alissa Holmgren/Anna Johnson 2-1, consolation champion (2) Emma Lemke/Rachel Fredman 2-1, 2nd place (3) Krista Miller 0-1, Kennedy Sommerfeld 1-2, Ali McGraw 1-1



No statistics available


No statistics available