Weather Forecast


Global markets dive, Prime Minister David Cameron to resign after British vote to leave EU

Prep Wrestling: KMS reaches Final 4 of Section 3A tourney

KERKHOVEN — No. 4-seed Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg rolled past No. 5 Canby 40-12 Thursday in the quarterfinals of the Section 3A team tournament.

The Fighting Saints now wrestle top-seeded Minneota Saturday in the semifinals at 1 p.m. in Lamberton. The other 1 p.m. semifinal Saturday features No. 2 Adrian and No. 3 Wabasso/Red Rock Central. The championship match will follow.

Fred Mansfield at 152 and Zach Carlson at 160 had the only pins for KMS, but Cody Peters added a tech fall at 126 and Jon Tostenson at 113 (major), Casey Thorson at 120, Jordan Engler at 132 (major), Arron Collins at 138, Karter Van Heuveln at 182, Izzy Rodriguez at 195 and Colton Kinney at 285 all won decisions.

KMS 40, Canby 12

106: Payton Viessman, C, dec Jacob Carlson 10-4

113: Jon Tostenson, K, maj Wyatt Johansen 10-0

120: Casey Thorson, K, dec Konnor King 4-1

126: Cody Peters, K, tcfl Noah Scott 22-4

132: Jordan Engler, K, maj Jared Lokken 21-7

138: Arron Collins, K, dec Billy Deslauriers 10-5

145: Jack Citrowske, C, dec Nick Meyer 5-3

152: Fred Mansfield, K, pin Kyler Jelen 0:34

160: Zach Carlson, K, pin Luke Jelen 2:53

170: Michael Peterson, C, dec Travis Lamacker 9-4

182: Karter Van Heuveln, K, dec Cole Regnier 7-2

195: Izzy Rodriguez, K, dec Bryce Gorder 5-3

220: Christian Full, C, dec Chase Norton 5-3

285: Colton Kinney, K, dec Adam Evenson 8-5

Minneota 54, BOLD 24

Top-seeded Minneota built a commanding 54-6 lead before No. 9 BOLD got back-to-back-to-back pins from Joel Erickson, Manuel Garcia and Trevor Nissen to close out the quarterfinal.

106: Brock Buysse, M, won by forfeit

113: Eric Hauswedell, M, won by forfeit

120: Brett Grund, B, dec Brendan Reiss 5-0

126: Landyn VanOverbeke, M, won by forfeit

132: Benny Garcia, B, dec Leo Buysse 9-5

138: Bryce Gruner, M, pin Drew Maher 1:41

145: Alec Engler, M, won by forfeit

152: Nicholas Esping, M, pin Derrick Lothert 0:58

160: Cole Hennen, M, pin Jake Rauenhorst 1:37

170: Grant Abraham, M, pin Ben Steffel 4:37

182: Nathan Bueltel, M, pin Austin Einerson 3:46

195: Joel Erickson, B, pin Everett VanHecke 2:44

220: Manuel Garcia, B, pin Trent Esping 5:01

285: Trevor Nissen, B, pin Ryan Twedt 1:16

First Round

BOLD 45, Benson 34

Seven of BOLD’s eight wins were from pins: Brett Grund at 120, Benny Garcia at 132, Drew Maher at 145, Ben Steffel at 170, Manuel Garcia at 192, Trevor Nissen at 220 and Zach Foesch at 285.

Jared Knutson at 113 and Bryce Goff at 152 earned pins for No. 8 Benson.

106: Wyatt McGee, Be, won by forfeit

113: Jared Knutson, Be, pin Kyle Kostohryz 3:16

120: Brett Grund, BO, pin Ethan Lagge 0:44

126: Lane Geyer, Be, won by forfeit

132: Benny Garcia, BO, pin Aaron Zosel 3:55

138: Grant Ascheman, Be, won by forfeit

145: Drew Maher, BO, pin Dan Lenarz 1:45

152: Bryce Goff, Be, pin Derrick Lothert 0:44

160: Mitch Koosman, Be, maj Jake Rauenhorst 12-3

170: Ben Steffel, BO, pin Matt Wieber 4:40

182: Joel Erickson, BO, dec Trevor Berreau 10-3

195: Manuel Garcia, BO, pin, R.J. Hogrefe 1:06

220: Trevor Nissen, BO, pin Kyle Wrobleski 0:14

285: Zach Foesch, BO, pin Dakota Watkins 3:51