Weather Forecast


Tamiflu offered to poultry farm workers in Midwest as bird flu battle escalates


Shuck holds onto Kandiyohi County Board seat

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
news Willmar, 56201
Willmar Minnesota 2208 Trott Ave. SW / P.O. Box 839 56201

WILLMAR -- Kandiyohi County Commissioner Dean Shuck was re-elected to a third term Tuesday, defeating challenger Doug Lindblad.

Shuck had 2,151 votes and Lindblad had 1,804 votes in unofficial results with all precincts reporting, though counting of absentee ballots was not complete.


Shuck represents District 3, which includes the Pheasant Run and Eagles Landing areas of Willmar, the towns of Pennock and Sunburg and the following townships: Arctander, Colfax, Dovre, Mamre, Lake Andrew, Norway Lake and St. Johns.

Shuck, who is a farmer from rural Sunburg, was first elected in 2002. While saying the county has done a good job holding down costs in a difficult economy, Shuck identified the sanitary landfill as the key area where the county needs to make improvements.

Lindblad, is a former Willmar fire chief and is currently the chairman of the Willmar Municipal Utilities. This was his first run at an elected office.

Lindblad said he ran for county board in order to give voters a choice. He said he would "see things in a different light and bring my experience to the county board."