Weather Forecast


Wastewater group honors Willmar, Belgrade, Litchfield operators


Les Lange of Willmar, Darren Braegelman of Belgrade and Bill Nygaard of Litchfield were among nine individuals to receive Operator of the Year awards from the Minnesota Wastewater Operators Association at the annual meeting in Grand Rapids.

The competitive awards are presented in categories of Wastewater Operator (Class A, B, C, and D), Collection System, Laboratory, Maintenance, and Rookie of the Year.

Lange received the Class A award, Braegelman received the Class D award, and Nygaard received the Laboratory award.

Winners meet criteria of excellence in job performance, accomplishments, awards, education and training undertaken to further their performance, professional, community and civic activities, and involvement in the advancement of the association.

The association is divided into six sections within Minnesota. The first step in the awards process is for each section to select candidates from within their membership. The winners from each section then enter statewide competition.

Each candidate submits an application packet, which is distributed to representatives from each section. Awards are then voted on, and the winners are announced at the annual meeting in July.