Weather Forecast


Willmar U14 boys soccer advances to state

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports Willmar,Minnesota 56201
West Central Tribune
Willmar U14 boys soccer advances to state
Willmar Minnesota 2208 Trott Ave. SW / P.O. Box 839 56201

WILLMAR -- The Willmar U14 boys soccer team won their league's West Division and has advanced to the Minnesota Youth Soccer Association State Tournament.


Willmar will play a match both Saturday and Sunday at Lucy Winton Bell Athletic Field No. 5 in Lakeland.

The U14's finished league play 10-0-2, outscoring opponents 35-11.

The boys U15's finished second in the West Division with a 6-2-2 record and a 17-12 advantage in goals scored.

The boys U17's won the West with a 10-0-0 record, but lost in the playoffs to Southwest United Soccer Club 1-0 in an overtime shootout last Saturday. The game was tied 0-0 at halftime and was still scoreless after two overtime periods.

The Willmar U17 girls finished 0-8-2 and last in the Southwest Girls U17 Classic 3. They scored nine goals and gave up 31.


Boys U14

Drew Barber, Alec Bateman, Jay Coquyt, Roger Gomez, Teza Harrison, Kyle Hiskens, Charlie Hopman, Diego Millian, Oscar Rivera, Corey Steer, Marneze Stimpel, Mariah Stimpel, Max Trochlil, Logan Walkow, Ben Wadsworth, Matthew Wiedeman ... Coaches: Rick Stimpel, Chibwe Chungu, Brad Hopman

Boys U15

Sam Arez, Juan Contreras, Nick Courtney, Nick Coquyt, Edwin Fernandez, Michael Floren, Bryan Guerrero, Mitch Johnson, Tom Kerstetter, Abdullahi Isralium, Mitch Johnson, Tom Kersetter, Jordi Lopez, Max Ochoa, Peter Rozendaal, Heber Sanchez, James Steer, Charlie Trochlil (goalie), Christian Vallecillo, Mario Valero (goalie), Isaac Yoakum ... Coaches: Richard Courtney, Tyke Yoakum

Boys U17

Junior Becerra, David Dominguez, Oscar Flores (goalie), Ezequiel Gomez, Jose Hernandez, Hirsi Houssein, Cesar Jimenez, Avery Knight, Joe Lueze, Ray Rivera, Jerel Stimpel, Mason Strege, Handerson Tevalan, Mitch Wiedeman, Eloy Zavala ... Coach: Remi Becerra

Girls U17

Samantha Boonstra, Paige Davis, Elise Duininck, Alicia Evans, Madison Fauskee, Ariel Gazelka, Morgan Glup, Alizabeth Haug, Courtney Jacobson, Mikayla Johannes, Karlie Larson, Dania Lopez, Abygayl Nevarez, Jayline Nevares, Autumn Orsten, Julia Price, Hannah Schirm, Danica Seifert, Megan Skalla, Alexandra Sobieck, Rosy Vallecillo ... Coaches: Scott Glup, Craig Price, Chris Duininck