Weather Forecast


Wright County to sponsor girls hockey next season

sports Willmar,Minnesota 56201
West Central Tribune
Wright County to sponsor girls hockey next season
Willmar Minnesota 2208 Trott Ave. SW / P.O. Box 839 56201

The Wright County Conference will sponsor a girls hockey league for the 2010-11 season.

The decision was announced after a Jan. 6 conference meeting.

The league will have five teams, including Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato, Mound-Westonka, Orono, Holy Family Catholic/Waconia and Hutchinson.

Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato currently plays in the Mississippi 8 Conference with Orono and Mound-Westonka.

The Wright County Conference was able to add girls hockey because of the addition of Hutchinson to all conference sports starting in the fall, which will make the Wright County Conference a 10-team league for most sports.

- T.J. Bartelt