Weather Forecast


'Wizard of Oz'

Jon Onnen as the Scarecrow, left, and Marie Nilles-Melchert as Dorothy, right, re-oil the Tinman played by Tyler Bakker in a scene from "The Wizard of Oz." (Tribune photo by Ron Adams)

WILLMAR -- The Willmar Senior High School Music Department presents "The Wizard of Oz" at 7 p.m. today through Saturday with matinees at 1 p.m. Saturday and Sunday at the high school theater.

Tickets are $10 for adults and $5 for kindergarten through grade 12. Tickets are available at the Community Education and Recreation office today. Remaining tickets will be available one hour before each performance at the school.

Dorothy, played by Marie Nilles-Melchert, is a 12-year-old Kansas farmgirl knocked unconscious during a tornado.

She, her dog Toto, and the farmhouse are apparently swept up in the storm and dropped into the magical Land of Oz, where she sets out on the yellow brick road to the Emerald City to ask the Wizard of Oz, played by Drew Larson, to return her to Kansas.

During her journey, she meets a Scarecrow (Jon Onnen), a Tin Man (Tyler Bakker) and a Cowardly Lion (Danny Tusa), who join her, hoping to receive what they lack themselves (a brain, a heart and courage, respectively).

They are pursued by the Wicked Witch of the West, played by Lucinda Sweazey, who wants her dead sister's magic ruby slippers, now worn by Dorothy.

At the end of the play, Dorothy finds herself back in her own bed at the farmhouse in Kansas, where her Aunt Em (Kassie Boller) tries to convince her that she dreamt her adventures in Oz.

Playing her Uncle Henry is Kyle Rozendaal. The farm hands are Aaron Weidemann as Hunk, Troy Stulen as Hickory and Cooper Willis as Zeke.

Emily Nadolny plays the neighbor, Miss Gulch; Paul Benson is Professor Marve and Patrick Rieland plays Nikko.

In the Land of Oz, Dorothy meets Glinda, the Good Witch of the North, played by Janessa Palmer.

The rest of the cast members are Aaron Weidemann, Ashlee Porter, Ashley Schmidt, Ashlyn Vosika-Scherzberg, Autumn Myers, Ayana Abdisalan, Bailey Hovland, Brady Damhof, Brandon Mogard, Brittany Curtiss, Brooke Piepenburg, Carlee Bach, Carolina Puchulu, Carrie Bell, Chaz Fenske, Claudia Rodas, Cooper Willis, Daria Harbisch, Drew Larson, Elise Haugen, Emily Daniel, Emily Streich, Gabe Nelson, Hannah Anderson, Hannah Englin, Hannah Olson, Jenet Gonzalez, Jenna Pehrson, Jess Bays, Jessica Fox, Jessica Naber, Jonathan Pierskalla, Jordan Gatewood, Kaitlin Bloomquist, Karina DeJong, Kassie Boller, Kim Wright, Kyla Herman, Kyle Rozendaal, Laura Miller, Marit Aarvik, Mary Goulson, Matt Heitzman, Michelle Wallace, Mitch Johnson, Morgan Stoeberl, Nathaniel Erickson, Omar Valencia, Paige Giesel, Paul Benson, Rachel Johnson, Rosie Molenaar, Sam Murphy, Sara Tinklenberg, Shawn Carlson, Shelby Danzeisen, Tashia Bemis, Taylor Reinke, Tiff Marthaller, Tom Nilles-Melchert, Tori Raths, Troy Stulen, Zach Sowers, Zahia Farhat and Zoe Vossen.

Members of the pit orchestra are Emily Nadolny, Aileen Clarke, Kara Hallberg, Kaia Hallbritter, Phil Nadolny, Becky Molenaar, Brian Daniel, Robert Brau, Sam Benson, Rachel Schmidt, AJ Derouin, Brady Dyson, Ariel Gazelka, Grant Schmitzerle, Jacob Broberg and Sam Schmitz.

Running the sound and lights are Dalton Blumhoefer, Catey LaPatka, Aileen Clarke and Dan Anfinson, under the direction of Terry Brau.

Members of the set crew are Laura Schmidt, Elle Stienessen, Tina Vazquez, Shelby Studanski, Kate Clarke and Jacob Broberg.

The musical directors are Neal Haugen, Julene Haugen and Travis Michelson, and Terry Brau is the conductor. Jess Bays is the student director.

Kari Michelson is the choreographer and Carlee Bach is the student choreographer.

Bryan Mara was the set director, Susie Johnson is the costume director and Lori Boros the assistant costume director.