Weather Forecast


PRCA photo contest winners

MORRIS -- The Prairie Renaissance Cultural Alliance has announced the winners of its annual photo contest. There were 104 photos entered by 28 photographers. UMM art professor Jess Larson chose one winner and one honorable mention in each category, and PRCA visitors voted on the People's Choice award. The winners are as follows:

In the Natural World category "Running River" by Hancock resident Emily Cunningham won first place, and "Senses," by Ted Goldstein of Morris, won honorable mention.

In the Global Community category, Phyllis Joos of Hancock won first place for "Community Progress?" and "Untitled" by Lindsey Freeman of Morris was awarded an honorable mention.

The winner in the Purple category was "Petals of Purple" by Samantha Massmann of Osakis, and "Guardian of the Monastery," by Jill Stevens of Benson received an honorable mention.

The first place winner in the Abstracts category was "Prairie Smoke Detail," by Ann Grandy of Glenwood. Honorable mention was awarded to Hancock resident Leah Zierke for "Frosted Tracks."

Of the photos in the Wetlands category, the first place winner was Jennifer Hope of Starbuck for "Winter Morning." Honorable mention was "Day's End" by Samantha Massmann of Osakis.

The winner of the Future Generations category was "Young Perseus" by Barbara Burke of Morris, with the honorable mention going to Glenwood resident Ann Grandy for "Sharing a Love of Prairies."

The People's Choice award went to "Storm Coming" by Van Gooch of Morris.

The juried show will hang in the PRCA's art gallery until the end of July.