Weather Forecast


Two Willmar attorneys, including Kandiyohi County Attorney Jenna Fischer, appointed as judges

WILLMAR – Kandiyohi County Attorney Jenna Fischer and Willmar attorney Rodney Hanson were appointed as District Court judges to the Eighth Judicial District.

The appointments were announced today by Gov. Mark Dayton.

Fischer will replace Kathryn N. Smith and Hanson will replace Jon Stafsholt, who both retired earlier this year.

Fischer, who was elected as Kandiyohi County attorney in 2010, will be chambered in Willmar.

Hanson will be chambered at Glenwood in Pope County.

“Jennifer Fischer and Rodney Hanson have demonstrated throughout their legal careers a passion for justice, and a strong commitment to public service,” said Dayton.

“Personally, Ms. Fischer and Mr. Hanson have given their time and talent to improve local hospitals, strengthen their communities, and improve the lives of young people. The people of the Eighth Judicial District will be well-served by the character and judgment of these two thoughtful community leaders.”

Prior to being elected as the Kandiyohi County attorney, Fischer was a partner at Jones & Fischer and, prior to that, served as an assistant public defender for the Eighth Judicial District. She earned her bachelor’s degree from St. Cloud State University and her law degree with honors from William Mitchell College of Law.

She also serves on the board of directors for Rice Memorial Hospital and Willmar Lakes Rotary, and is a former board member of the Willmar Lakes Area Chamber of Commerce and past president of the Kandiyohi County Area Family YMCA.

Hanson is a partner with Anderson, Larson, Hanson & Saunders, where he practices primarily in civil litigation. He has maintained a local practice in Willmar since 1985 and is a qualified neutral arbitrator for the American Arbitration Association.

He earned his bachelor’s degree with honors from Concordia College and his law degree from the William Mitchell College of Law.

He is a board member of the Kandiyohi County Area Family YMCA and a past president and board member of the United Way of West Central Minnesota.

Fischer and Hanson both live in Willmar with their families.

Minnesota’s Eighth Judicial District consists of Big Stone, Chippewa, Grant, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Pope, Renville, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine counties.

Carolyn Lange

A reporter for 35 years, Carolyn Lange covers regional news with the West Central Tribune.

(320) 894-9750