Weather Forecast


Reierson and deCathelineau chosen for vacated Spicer City Council seats

SPICER -- Spicer City Council candidates Jerry Reierson and Robin deCathelineau will occupy the city's two vacated council seats beginning in 2009.

Reierson and deCathelineau were elected to Spicer's two open City Council seats Tuesday with Reierson receiving 322 votes and deCathelineau receiving 315 votes, according to unofficial returns from the Minnesota Secretary of State's office.

Candidates Janice Carlson, Elizabeth Christensen and Tiffany Wachtler received a combined 561 votes of the 1,200 total votes cast in Spicer. Wachtler led the three candidates with 285 votes.

Reierson will serve his second stint in the Spicer City Council after serving as a councilman from 1998 until 2002. deCathelineau will make a second appearance as a councilwoman after previously serving on the City Council from 1999 until 2002.

Both council seats are at-large. Reierson and deCathelineau will serve four-year terms.

During his first term on the City Council, Reierson also served as a Spicer Economic Development Authority member from 1996 until 2004. The local lumberyard manager was also a member of the Spicer Fire Department for 20 years starting in 1985.

In addition to her time on the council, deCathelineau has been the president of the Pioneerland Library System Board since 2002. deCathelineau is also the bookkeeper for the New London-Spicer School District.

During an Oct. 27 debate in Spicer, Reierson and deCathelineau emphasized fiscal responsibility within Spicer's city government. Similar to the other candidates, Reierson and deCathelineau called for a budget freeze or reduction to deter the recent tax rate increases in Spicer.

Reierson and deCathelineau will occupy the seats of Councilman Ron Schneider and Councilman Terry Holmquist. Neither councilman sought re-election this year.