Weather Forecast


NLS voters return O'Brien to board; elect Kilpatrick, Nolting to other two seats

NEW LONDON -- New London-Spicer School Board challengers David Kilpatrick and Renee Nolting will join incumbent Michael O'Brien on the NLS School Board starting in 2009.

Kilpatrick, Nolting and O'Brien were elected by district voters Tuesday to the three open seats of the New London-Spicer School Board. The three were chosen out of seven candidates. All three were elected to four-year terms, and each serves the district at-large.

O'Brien was the top vote-getter with 2,207 votes, according to unofficial results from the Minnesota Secretary of State's office. Nolting followed with 2,145 votes and Kilpatrick was elected to the third chair with 2,008 votes.

Incumbent Jeff Roguske was not re-elected to the seat he has occupied since 2006. He received 1,809 votes. Chairwoman Karen Nelson did not run for re-election to her seat. Both of their terms will end Dec. 31.

O'Brien of Spicer has served on the School Board since 1998, spending four of those years as chairman. He is a retired conservation officer of the state Department of Natural Resources. He has also been a five-year member of the Southwest Central School Co-op Board.

Kilpatrick of Spicer has been an active volunteer in the KEEP Committee for the district's operating levy promotion this year and a former member of the district's All-Day, Everyday Kindergarten Task Force. He is a college professor and a Yale University graduate.

Nolting of Spicer has been the food service director of West Central Industries Inc. for 18 years, which includes managing food operations for the school lunch programs of local private schools. She is also a member of the National School Nutrition Association and the Minnesota School Nutrition Association.

Also Tuesday, NLS district voters approved an operating levy request worth $597 per student. The new operating levy represents a $200-per-student increase from the district's existing levy worth $397 per student.

The other candidates in Tuesday's election were Bonnie Kleman of New London, a retired lawyer and law librarian; Todd Neumann of New London, a patrol sergeant with the Kandiyohi County Sheriff's Department; and Dawn M. Weber of New London, an attorney.