Weather Forecast


New commissioners will be joining area county boards: Chippewa County

WILLMAR -- There will be new faces joining the county boards of commissioners in Renville, Pope and Lac qui Parle counties, according to unofficial results from the auditor's offices in the respective counties.

In Renville County, Lamont Jacobson, 50, will succeed Gale Dahlager on the County Board.

Jacobson, a lifelong crop farmer in the county, was making his first bid for county office and topped Sheriff Jerry Agre, who is retiring from his 33-year law enforcement career, 18 of them as sheriff.

Pat Buschette ran a write-in campaign during the final week of the election, but it is not known how many of the 103 write-ins in that district carried her name. She did not meet a requirement to register as a write-in candidate seven days before the election, so consequently the names on the write-in ballots are not recorded unless a recount is conducted.

The unofficial results for the commissioner races by county in the area are as follows:

Kenneth Koenen of rural Maynard won re-election to the seat he has held since 1992.

District 1

Kenneth Koenen, (I), Maynard -- 916

Ron Sherod, Montevideo -- 283

District 2

Jeffrey Lopez, (I) Raymond -- 1,226

District 4

Jim Dahlvang, (I) Montevideo -- 1,025

Richard "Dick'' Larson, 77, held on to the seat he's held for 12 years in a contest with William Graves, 46.

District 2

Richard B. "Dick'' Larson, (I), Willmar -- 1,735

William Graves, Willmar -- 1,372

District 4

Dennis Peterson, (I), Spicer -- 4,508

Sheriff Graylen Carlson, 56, will be hanging up his badge at the end of the year after 33 years in law enforcement, 25 of those years as sheriff, but taking on a new role as a county commissioner. He defeated incumbent Ivey Vonderharr for the seat she has held since winning a special election in 1995.

District 1

Todd Patzer, (I), Marietta -- 805

District 3

Graylen Carlson, Madison -- 475

Ivey Vonderharr (I), Madison -- 412

District 5

Harold Solem, (I) Montevideo -- 804

Incumbent Ron Kutzke held off a challenge to retain his seat.

District 5

Ron Kutzke, (I) Grove City -- 1,274

Russ Peterson, Grove City -- 901

Gordy Wagner and Paul Gerde gained seats on the Board of Commissioners in races without incumbents. Wagner will succeed Jeanne Olson in District 2 and Gerde will succeed Dean Paulson in District 3.

District 2

Gordy Wagner, Glenwood -- 663

Cody Rogahn, Glenwood -- 515

District 3

Paul Gerde, Glenwood -- 687

Everell Barsness, Glenwood -- 587

District 1

Ralph Novotny, (I) Hector -- 1,414

District 5

Lamont Jacobson, Sacred Heart -- 844

Jerry Agre, Sacred Heart -- 732

Write-ins -- 103

Swift County's three incumbents on the Board of Commissioners retained their seats, two of them by generally wide margins. In District 5. Board Chairman Doug Anderson of Kerkhoven held onto his seat with a 63-vote victory over James Falk of Murdock.

District 1

Gary Hendrickx, (I) Appleton -- 289

Allan S. Johnson, Appleton -- 152

District 3

Pete Peterson, (I) Benson -- 906

Cindy Regan, De Graff -- 257

District 5

Doug Anderson, (I) Kerkhoven -- 621

James Falk, Murdock -- 558

District 3

Gary L. Johnson (I), Montevideo -- 982

District 5

Louis H. Sherlin, (I) Canby -- 1,021

(I) denotes incumbent.