Weather Forecast


Tribune Hall of Fame finalists named

Finalists for the Tribune Sports Hall of Fame include six previous finalists and four newcomers.

Those that have appeared on a final 10 ballot before are Brad Atchison, Rod Black, Traci Grussing, Jon Lilleberg, Becky Moen and Norm Sixta. Those appearing on the ballot for the first time are Cindy Haugejorde, Chuck Kavanagh, Susan Semmler and Curt Strasheim.

The 10 finalists will be voted on by a representative of each of the 21 school districts in our coverage area, plus five representatives from the Tribune.

The winners will be announced in December. There is no banquet. Each winner will receive a plaque and a duplicate plaque will be hung on the Hall of Fame wall inside the Tribune's front door.

To be inducted into the Hall of Fame, finalists must receive 75 percent of the total votes based on 10 points for first place, seven for second, five for third, three for fourth and one for fifth.

The late Lefty Ranweiler was last year's lone inductee. Black was second in the voting and Sixta was third, but neither garnered enough votes to be inducted.

There are currently 20 members of the Tribune Sports Hall of Fame. They are: Wayne Brabender, Bob Bruggers, John Carlson Sr., Larry Cole, Mike Dreier, Bonnie Henrickson, Mike Kingery, Dave Klug, Michele Marthaler, John Miller, Roy Minter, Chari Nordgaard, Jeff Nord-gaard, Tim Piechowski, Lefty Ranweiler, Brad Rheingans, Val Swanson, Carrie Tollefson, Virg Vagle and Barry Wohler.

Anyone involved in sports is eligible to be nominated. Athletes must have been out of high school at least five years to be eligible.

Nominations closed on Monday.

The Tribune chooses the 10 finalists for voting. Each voter chooses five of the nominees and ranks them in order with voting points on a 10-7-5-3-1 basis. Finalists must receive 75 percent of the total votes to be inducted.