Weather Forecast


Economic Development Commission boards elect officers

In back-to-back meetings Thursday, the joint operations board and the joint powers board of the Kandiyohi County and City of Willmar Economic Development Commission reorganized and elected new officers for 2009.

Ron Christianson was elected to head the joint powers board this coming year. Richard Falk will serve as vice chairman. Denis Anderson was re-elected secretary and Bruce Shuck was re-elected treasurer. Christianson and Anderson are Willmar City Council designees to the EDC joint powers board; Falk and Shuck represent the Kandiyohi County Board of Commissioners.

The joint operations board chose Duane Hultgren as its president for 2009. Other officers are Ron Erpelding, vice president; Bev Dougherty, secretary; and Milan Schmiesing, treasurer.

The joint powers board also reappointed Dougherty and Betty Bollig to another term on the operations board.

The EDC's standing committees and committee membership were ratified by the joint powers board as well. There are five main committees: agribusiness and renewable energy development, business retention and expansion, finance, marketing and public relations, and tourism.