Weather Forecast


Century Farms for 2009 to be honored at State Fair

EAGAN -- The Minnesota State Fair and the Minnesota Farm Bureau recognize 114 Minnesota farms as 2009 Century Farms. Qualifying farms have been in continuous family ownership for at least 100 years and are 50 acres or more. Century Farm families receive a commemorative sign, as well as a certificate signed by the State Fair and Minnesota Farm Bureau presidents and Gov. Pawlenty.

Century Farm families from west central Minnesota include:

Chippewa County: Steven Nokleby Family, Montevideo, 1898;

Kandiyohi County: Jensen Greene Acres, Belgrade, 1909; Anderson/Feifarek/Petersen Family, Willmar, 1906.

Lac qui Parle County: Wold Family, Boyd, 1884.

Meeker County: Wayne David Nelson, Cosmos, 1903; Alan and Shirley Skalberg, Dassel, 1873; Harold and Karin Haag, Eden Valley, 1909; Helen Winings, Watkins, 1909.

Renville County: The Kurtz Family, Renville, 1901.

Stearns County: Bernard J. and Natalie Niewind, Eden Valley, 1909; Harvey and Marilyn Lieser, Paynesville, 1892.

Yellow Medicine County: Orval and Muriel Gubrud, Canby, 1883.

Send information about your ag-related event to

or to the West Central Tribune, PO Box 839, Willmar, MN 56201.