Weather Forecast


Update 7:56 p.m.: Tornado watch canceled in much of west central Minnesota, continues to the east and in SE Minn.

The National Weather Service has canceled the tornado watch for much of west central Minnesota.

Those counties cleared include, Kandiyohi, Renville, Todd, Redwood, Chippewa, Douglas, Lac qui Parle, Pope, Stevens, Swift and Yellow Medicine.

This area includes the cities of Alexandria, Benson, Glenwood, Granite Falls, Long Prairie, Madison, Montevideo, Morris, Olivia, Redwood Falls and Willmar.

The tornado watch continues until 9 p.m. in McLeod, Meeker, Stearns, Sherburne and Wright counties.

Other counties in eastern and southeast Minnesota area continue in the tornado watch or warning areas.

1 p.m. update

Tornado watch issued for west central Minnesota until 9 p.m. tonight

A tornado watch has been issued for all of west central Minnesota until 9 p.m. tonight.

Counties affected by the tornado watch include Big Stone, Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, McLeod, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Pope, Redwood, Renville, Sibley, Stearns, Stevens and Wright.

The National Weather Forecast said this afternoon the most likely area for tornado development in Minnesota is from Morris to Little Falls and in a corridor to Redwood Falls to Owatonna. This includes much of central and south central Minnesota.