Weather Forecast


Primary 2010 roundup

Most of the winners in this week's primary election from area county races were known Tuesday night, but not all the results from precincts were in by press time for the Wednesday edition. The following is a list of unofficial results provided by the Secretary of State's office in area races for county commissioner, county attorney and sheriff.

The top two vote-getters in each race now proceed to the Nov. 2 general election.

While most of the races were decided by fairly wide margins, the county commissioner race in Pope County was close with 22 votes separating the first- and second- place winners and 27 votes separating the second- and third-place winners.

There is no automatic recount in state statutes for county offices, but a candidate may request a recount. There was no word Wednesday on whether anyone was seeking a recount in the Pope County contest.

County Commissioner

Chippewa County, District 5

David Lieser: 332

Todd Hay: 84

Marvin Garbe: 67

Kandiyohi County, District 5

Harlan Madsen: 613

John Cunningham: 335

Ron Sammons: 97

Lac qui Parle County, District 2

Deron Brehmer: 213

Randy "Burt" Letrud: 146

John Plathe: 81

Keith Hoffman: 44

Michael Gloege: 27

Meeker County, District 3

Tim Benoit: 348

Amy Wilde: 305

Darin Packard: 34

Pope County, District 5

Randy Shaw: 273

Cody Rogahn: 251

Robert McCrory: 224

Swift County, District 2

Gary Klemm: 368

Dennis Dehaan: 124

Mason Schirmer: 65

County Attorney

Kandiyohi County

Jennifer "Jenna" Fischer: 3,259

Boyd Beccue: 1,107

Bradley Junkermeier: 745

Pope County

Neil Nelson: 1,404

Nan Haggerty: 716

Belvin Doebbert: 566

Douglas Hegg: 269


Lac qui Parle County

Rick Halvorson: 855

Kevin Monson: 624

Dallas Schellberg: 395

Meeker County

Jeff Norlin: 1,818

Benjamin Aho: 751

Mark Shoutz: 627

Pope County

Tim Riley: 1,399

Richard Zimmerman: 724

Jim Chan: 559

John Olson: 298

Swift County

John Holtz: 1,055

Jim Crace: 905

Bob Borden: 553