Weather Forecast


Watson decides municipal posts

Voters in Watson have apparently decided three municipal posts by write-in. According to unofficial returns provided by the Chippewa County Auditor's Office, Debra Birdsall was elected mayor by write-in, and Joe Rongstad and Tina Buseman were elected to two of four council seats by write-in.

The tallies are listed below. An asterisk denotes the unofficial winners.

The other two open council seats were won by people who filed for election to office.

All results are considered unofficial until canvassing boards meet.


Robert Buchanan -- 42

Chris Dornbusch -- 13

* Debra Birdsall -- 43 by write-in

Ed Lipiski -- 2 by write-in

No other write-in votes were cast

Council Member (2-yr) (elect 2)

Daniel Buchanan -- 39

* Marian Raffelson -- 42

* Joe Rongstad -- 49 by write-in

David Joslin -- 39 by write-in

Several others received 1 or 2 write-in votes.

Council Member (4-yr) (elect 2)

Shahnaz Ansari -- 38

* Steven Schoep -- 46

* Tina Buseman -- 51 by write-in

Several others received as many as 8 write-in votes.