Weather Forecast


State Pork Board annual meeting set for Dec. 7

MANKATO -- Chris Novak, National Pork Board Chief Executive Officer, will be the keynote speaker at the Minnesota Pork Board annual meeting. The meeting begins at 3:30 p.m. Dec. 7 at the Country Inn & Suites, Mankato.

All pork producers who pay into the federally mandated Pork Checkoff are stakeholders in the Minnesota Pork Board and are eligible to vote and to give their input on Pork Checkoff programs. Membership in a county pork producers' association is not required to participate in the Minnesota Pork Board meeting.

The meeting agenda will include review of the 2010 financial statement and programs, discussion on Pork Checkoff-related resolutions and election of Executive Board/Pork Act Delegates. The Executive Board/Pork Act Delegates will serve as the 2011 Minnesota Pork Board and members and as Minnesota's 2012 National Pork Forum voting delegates.

The following individuals are running for the 12 Minnesota Pork Board and Executive Board/Pork Act Delegates seats:

Bill Crawford of Fairmont, Pat FitzSimmons of Dassel, Meg Freking of Jackson, Curt Johnson of Jasper, Jeff Lopez of Raymond, Craig Mensink of Preston, Mary Peichel of Fairfax, Nate Potter of Springfield, Sheila Schmid of Sleepy Eye, Doug Stade of Eden Valley, Tim Steuber of Fairmont, Pat Thome of Adams, Jackie Tlam of Dunnell, Tim Waibel of New Ulm and Jason Welter of Stewartville. Nominations will also be accepted at the meeting.

Resolutions at the annual meeting must relate to Pork Checkoff programs. Resolutions made at the meeting will require a two-thirds margin to be brought to the floor for discussion and three-fourths majority vote for approval.

A luncheon for meeting attendees will be served at the Country Inn & Suites from 11:30 a.m. to 12:45 p.m. The Minnesota Pork Board Annual Meeting will be from 3:30 to 6 p.m., followed by a social at 6 p.m. To help with meal planning, seating and handouts, registration is requested but not necessary. To register, contact the Minnesota Pork Board and office at 1-800-537-7675 or email to

The Minnesota Pork Producers Association annual meeting will be from 1 to 3:30 p.m. Dec. 7. Pork Producers members address public policy, and legislation is not associated with the Pork Checkoff. The Pork Producers meeting is open to those who are enrolled in the Strategic Invest Program and the Partners Program.