Weather Forecast


Two to be crowned county dairy princesses

WILLMAR -- Julie Gatewood and Brenda Hinseth will be crowned as the 2011 Dairy Princesses at the Kandiyohi County Dairy Princess Banquet at 7:30 p.m. Feb. 19 at the Kandi Entertainment Center in Willmar.

The outgoing 2010 Dairy Princesses were Michaela Bengtson, Samantha Cunningham, Julie Gatewood, Brenda Hinseth, Amy Schueler and Michelle Tait. Bengtson also was a Princess Kay finalist.

Gatewood and Hinseth will represent the dairy industry during many public appearances throughout the upcoming year.

Gatewood, 19, is the daughter of Gene and Shelly Gatewood of Willmar and a 2010 graduate of Willmar High School. She is a freshman at Ridgewater College in Willmar.

She is active in 4-H as the secretary and is a Sunday School teacher at her church along with many other youth activities. She works at the YMCA childcare center and at Gatewood Farm. She and her family farm 350 acres, milk 66 cows and raise all of their replacement heifers southeast of Willmar. They also raise sheep and many other assorted animals, including one llama.

In high school Gatewood participated in student council, key club, choir, orchestra, On Call and was the secretary of the FFA chapter.

Hinseth, 18, is the daughter of Craig and Kathy Hinseth of New London and a 2010 graduate of New London-Spicer High School. She is a freshman at Ridgewater College in Willmar in the legal administrative assistant program.

In high school Hinseth was active in 4-H and served as secretary, and was the treasurer of the FFA chapter and on the dairy judging team, won the FFA State Degree, was involved in the PALS program and a Sunday School teacher.

They milk 40 cows and farm 160 acres of land by rural New London. They raise goats and black Angus beef cows. She keeps busy working on their farm and other jobs.

Banquet tickets are $15 for adults and $8 for kids 12 and under and are available from the current dairy princesses, the princess candidates and the Kandiyohi County Dairy Association board of directors.

Banquet information is available from Shereen Hauge at 320-599-4483.