Weather Forecast


Peterson re-elected secretary of National Farmers Union board

ST. PAUL -- Doug Peterson, Minnesota Farmers Union President, was re-elected by state presidents as secretary of the National Farmers Union Board of Directors at the NFU Convention recently in Omaha, Neb. This will be Peterson's third term as secretary.

"It is an honor to be re-elected by my peers as secretary of the National Farmers Union Board of Directors," said Doug Peterson. "I look forward to serving in this capacity for the next couple years and to help NFU fight for prosperity for rural America."

Several Minnesotans were also honored at the convention for their work in signing up members, including MFU Vice President Gary Wertish of Renville, who received the Silver Star Award, the highest of all the membership awards. Other Membership Award recipients from Minnesota were: Bessie Klose of Atwater; Eugene Lysen of Benson; Julie Bleyhl of Madison; John Ripka of Ogilvie; Marlton "Bud" DeNeui of Clinton; and Tom Clemen of Murdock.