Weather Forecast


Koenen continues to lead as ballots counted in special primary election

WILLMAR -- Rep. Lyle Koenen continues to hold a solid lead over fellow DFLer John Schultz in today's special primary election in Senate District 20.

Votes are currently being tallied in the seven counties were votes were cast and are being reported on the Minnesota Secretary of State's website.

With 82 percent of the votes counted, Koenen,of Clara City, has 1,359 votes and Schultz, of Correll, has 827.

The winner will face off against Leon Greenslit, Independence Party of Olivia and Gregg Kulberg, R-Hector in a special election April 10.

The winner will succeed Sen. Gary Kubly, DFL of Granite Falls, who died March 2.

Carolyn Lange

A reporter for 35 years, Carolyn Lange covers regional news with the West Central Tribune.

(320) 894-9750