Weather Forecast


Polls open Tuesday for special election in District 20

Joanne Tofte prepares to cast her vote recently at the Kerkhoven Civic Center. Tofte, who took over as an election judge after voting, was the fifth Pillsbury Township resident to vote in the special primary held to select candidates for Tuesday's special election. Tribune photo by Gary Miller

Voters in State Senate District 20 will go to the polls Tuesday to choose a successor to the late Sen. Gary Kubly of Granite Falls.

Kubly, a longtime legislator, died last month after a battle with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or ALS. The winner of Tuesday's special election will fill the vacancy for the rest of the year.

Three candidates are on the special election ballot: Leon Greenslit, from Olivia, of the Independence Party, Lyle Koenen, DFL-Clara City and the district's current representative in the House; and Gregg Kulberg, a Republican from Hector.

The district covers Big Stone, Chippewa, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Renville, Swift and Yellow Medicine counties.

Most polling locations will open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. Voters may locate their polling place online at http: //

Voters can register to vote on Election Day with proof of residence at their polling place. Voters can check their voter registration status online at

Unofficial election results for Tuesday's special election will be available after the polls close at 8 p.m. on the Minnesota Secretary of State website at

A state canvassing board for the District 20 special election will convene April 13 in St. Paul to certify official election results.

-- Staff reports