Weather Forecast


Koenen wins special election in Minn. Senate seat

Rep. Lyle Koenen has won the Senate District 20 special election.

In unofficial results Koenen, DFL-Clara City, had 3,914 votes. Gregg Kulberg, R-Hector, had 2,912 votes and Leon Greenslit, a member of the Independence Party from Olivia had 364 votes.

Koenen will fill the remaining term of the late Sen. Gary Kubly, who died last month.

The term will run through the end of the year.

There will not be an election to fill Koenen's House seat because the legislature is expected to adjourn before another election could be held, according to he Minnesota Secretary of State's office.

District 20 includes Big Stone, Chippewa, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Renville, Swift and Yellow Medicine counties.

Carolyn Lange

A reporter for 35 years, Carolyn Lange covers regional news with the West Central Tribune.

(320) 894-9750