Weather Forecast


As filing deadline ends, two races will require primaries

WILLMAR -- With the filing deadline reached Tuesday, races for seats in the state Legislature have developed as expected with two requiring primaries.

The new Minnesota House District 17B seat will require a primary to decide the DFL candidate. DFL candidates Mary Sawatzky, of Willmar, and Jessica Rohloff, of Willmar, will face off in the Aug. 14 primary. Sawatzky was endorsed by the party.

As expected, incumbent Rep. Bruce Vogel, R-Willmar, has also filed.

Vogel, Independence Party candidate Zachary Liebl and the winner of the DFL primary will be on the November ballot for District 17B.

A DFL primary also is required in Senate District 17. Sen. Lyle Koenen, DFL-Clara City, and Larry Rice of Willmar have filed. The party did not reach agreement on an endorsement.

Incumbent Sen. Joe Gimse, R-Willmar, also has filed and he will face the DFL primary winner in November's general election.

Other filings on record with the Minnesota Secretary of State's office at the end of the day on Tuesday follow: Candidates can also file at their county courthouse, and it is possible some of those names were not available as of press time. Also, the filed candidates have two additional days to withdraw their name from consideration.

Senate District 12

State Rep. Torrey Westrom, R-Elbow Lake, is not seeking re-election to the House and has filed for Senate. John Schultz, DFL-Correll, has also filed.

House District 12A

A three-way race has taken shape. Filing for the seat are Jay McNamar, DFL-Elbow Lake, Scott Dutcher, R-Brandon, and Dave Holman, Independence Party member from Morris. The incumbent, Torrey Westrom, has filed for Senate.

House District 12B

Incumbent Rep. Paul Anderson, R-Starbuck, and Rick Rosenfield, DFL-Alexandria, have filed.

Senate District 16

Incumbent Sen. Gary Dahms, R-Redwood Falls, and Ted Suss, DFL-Wabasso, have filed.

House District 16A

Incumbent Rep. Chris Swedzinski, R-Marshall, and Al Kruse, DFL-Marshall, have filed.

House District 16B

A three-way race has emerged as incumbent Rep. Paul Torkelson, R-St. James, James Kanne, DFL-Franklin, and Jerry "Pike" Pagel, of New Ulm, no party affiliation, have filed.

House District 17A

Incumbent Rep. Andrew Falk, DFL-Murdock, and Tim Miller, R-Prinsburg, have both filed.

House District 18A

Incumbent Rep. Dean Urdahl, R-Grove City, and Nancy Larson, DFL-Dassel, have filed.

Filing for county boards in the area follow, according to filings on record with the Minnesota Secretary of State's office at the end of Tuesday. Last-minute Tuesday filings may not have been available at press time. County candidates who have filed also have two additional days to withdraw.

Chippewa County

The race for the District 1 seat held by Kenneth Koenen of Maynard has attracted five candidates, but not the incumbent. Koenen, of rural Maynard, has served since 1992, but has not filed. Seeking the seat are Dave Lauritsen of Milan, Douglas Kluver of rural Montevideo, Matt Gilbertson of Watson, Stan Harms of Clara City and Galen Rud of Montevideo.

Dustin Shourds of rural Montevideo and David Nordaune of Granite Falls have filed to challenge incumbent Dennis L. Anderson of rural Montevideo for the District 3 seat.

Jonathan Frikke of Clara City has filed to challenge Jeffrey Lopez of rural Raymond for the District 2 seat.

Incumbent Jim Dahlvang of Montevideo has filed for the District 4 seat.

Kandiyohi County

Six candidates are vying for the District 4 seat being vacated by incumbent Dennis Peterson of New London. Karen Nelson of Spicer joins candidates Roger Imdieke of New London, John Nething of Belgrade, Michael O'Brien of Spicer, Alan Welle of Willmar and Donnel C. Williamson of


Douglas Reese of Willmar and incumbent Harlan Madsen of Lake Lillian have filed for the Districts 2 and 5 seats, respectively.

Lac qui Parle County

Incumbent Harold Solem of Dawson has filed for his District 5 seat. Roy Marihart of Dawson has filed to challenge him.

Incumbents Todd Patzer of Marietta, DeRon Brehmer of Bellingham, and Graylen Carlson of Madison have filed for their Districts 1, 2 and 3 seats, respectively.

Meeker County

Contests are assured in Districts 4 and 5. Mike Housman of Dassel is challenging incumbent Wally Strand of Kimball in District 4.

Mike Lokken of Grove City, Ben Smith of Grove City and Mike Huberty of Eden Valley have filed for the District 5 seat, where incumbent Roney Kutzke has not filed.

Incumbents David Gabrielson of Litchfield and Tim Benoit of Dassel have filed for their Districts 2 and 3 seats, respectively.

Pope County

Incumbents have filed for four seats. Gordon Wagner of Glenwood has filed for District 2, Paul Gerde of Glenwood for District 3, Larry Lindor of Cyrus for District 4 and Cody Rogahn of Glenwood for District 5.

Renville County

Randy Kramer of rural Bird Island has filed for the District 1 seat currently held by Ralph Novotny of rural Buffalo Lake.

Incumbents Paul Setzepfandt of Bird Island and LaMont Jacobson of Sacred Heart have filed for their Districts 3 and 5 seats, respectively.

Swift County

Incumbents Gary Hendrickx of Appleton, Gary Klemm of Benson, Pete Peterson of Benson, and Joe Fox of Appleton have filed for their Districts 1, 2, 3 and 4 seats.

Yellow Medicine County

A four-way race has developed for the District 2 seat to succeed the late Dick Wambeke. John Berends, Mitch Brovlod, Bill Miller and Michael Ohliger Sr., all of Grantie Falls, are seeking the post.

Joe Rohlik of Wood Lake has filed to challenge incumbent Greg Renneke of Echo for the District 1 seat.

Incumbent Louis Sherlin of Canby and Jim Stone of Canby have filed for the District 5 seat.

Incumbents Gary Johnson of Montevideo and Ron Antony of Canby have filed for the Districts 3 and 4 seats, respectively.