Weather Forecast


Beckman, Van Hon named as Eighth District Judges

ST. PAUL - Gov. Mark Dayton has appointed Stephanie Beckman and Thomas Van Hon as District Court judges in Minnesota's Eighth Judicial District.

Beckman will replace Judge Steven E. Drange who retired earlier this year. She will be chambered in Litchfield in Meeker County.

Beckman has served as the Meeker County Attorney for seven years and previously worked as an assistant county attorney in Meeker and Stearns counties. She received her law degree from William Mitchell College of Law in 2003.

Van Hon will replace Judge Paul A. Nelson who also retired earlier this year. He will be chambered in Montevideo in Chippewa County. Both seats are located within the Eighth Judicial District.

Van Hon maintains a general law practice and serves as the city attorney for Fairfax, and is an assistant public defender in Redwood and Brown counties. Previously, he was an associate attorney with the Rowley Law Office and was an assistant county attorney for Redwood County. He received his law degree and a master's degree from University of Iowa College of Law/University of Iowa Graduate College in 1984.

"As accomplished attorneys and dedicated public servants, Stephanie Beckman and Thomas Van Hon have demonstrated that they will serve the Eighth Judicial District with excellence," said Gov. Dayton, in his news release announcing the appointments. "I thank them for their willingness to serve, and wish them very best as they take on these new roles."

Minnesota's Eighth Judicial District consists of Big Stone, Chippewa, Grant, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Meeker, Pope, Renville, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine counties.