Weather Forecast


Gilbertson, Lopez, Nordaune and Dahlvang elected to Chippewa Co. Board

MONTEVIDEO -- Matt Gilbertson, Jeffrey Lopez, David Nordaune and Jim Dahlvang have been elected to the Chippewa County Board.

According to unofficial results, Gilbertson, of Watson received 618 votes and Galen Rud, of Montevideo, received 581 votes for the District 1 seat. The race originally attracted five candidates, with primary voters advancing Rud and Gilbertson to the general election. Because of redistricting, the winner will serve a two-year term.

In District 2, incumbent Lopez, of rural Raymond, received 718 votes. Challenger Jonathan Frikke, of Clara City, received 475 votes.

In District 3, David Nordaune, of Granite Falls, received 640 votes. Incumbent Dennis L. Anderson, of rural Montevideo, received 593 votes.

Incumbent Jim Dahlvang, of Montevideo, ran unopposed for the District 4 seat. He received 1,017 votes.

Districts 2, 3 and 4 will be four-year terms.