Weather Forecast


Funding for government lapses as short-term spending bill stalls in the Senate

Cities find varying ways to collaborate

The Kandiyohi Area Transit is a good example of collaboration between the city of Willmar and Kandiyohi County. The public transportation system provides rides city-wide and across the county. Tribune photo by Ron Adams

The following area cities are among cities listed by the League of Minnesota Cities sharing services with other governmental entities:


Ambulance: Mutual aid agreements for ambulance services with many cities.

Economic development/planning: Participates with Milan, Madison and Marietta.

Fire mutual aid: City and 11 townships have agreements or fire service call assistance and backup.

Police: City has mutual agreements for police call assistance and backup with several cities and counties.


Administration: Electric utility funded efficient lighting in school gym; shares a building official with Morris; shares technology coordinator with Benson School District, Swift County and Swift County-Benson Hospital.

Fire: Share fire services with townships and other small cities nearby.

Library: Shares in regional library.


Fire mutual aid: with Grey Eagle, Long Prairie, Melrose, Osakis, Sauk Centre and Villard. Each fire department offers mutual aid assistance.

Fire protection: Glenwood supplies fire service to Long Beach.

Wastewater treatment: Glenwood administers and services sewer treatment for Long Beach.

Granite Falls

Economic development/planning: Township annexation; provide for orderly annexation of property for ethanol plant development.

Fire: Mutual aid agreements with Clarkfield, Boyd, Granite Falls, Hanley Falls, Marshall, Montevideo and St. Leo; aid neighboring fire departments as needed.

Parks and recreation: Community education provides services in Yellow Medicine County.

Police: Joint law enforcement center effort with Yellow Medicine County.


Administration: Share city manager services with small cities; Western Health care alliance in formative stage to provide affordable health care to 10-12 counties.

Economic development: Working with Appleton, Milan and Marietta.

Library: Participate in Pioneerland Library System with 23 other entities.

Parks and recreation: Share mosquito control equipment owned by Dawson.

Police: Share efficiencies and reduce employee and capital costs with Lac qui Parle County and Boyd and Dawson.

Public works: Share street repair and equipment with Dawson.

Transportation: Share in Lac qui Parle County airport.


Fire: Mutual aid agreements with Clarkfield, Boyd, Granite Falls, Hanley Falls, Marshall, Montevideo and St. Leo; aid neighboring fire departments as needed.

New London

Fire: Fire protection for six townships.

Parks and recreation: Community education and youth services with seven surrounding townships.

Water: Green Lake Sanitary Sewer and Water District, cooperative effort to save money on joint water and sewer district with Green Lake and Spicer.


Administration: Joint networking with Bird Island and Lake Lillian. Committee meets every other month to share stories and look for ways to cooperate and collaborate.

Police: Renville County Law Enforcement Center includes leased space for Olivia Police Department.


Economic development: Joint Planning Board.

Fire: Joint Fire Advisory Board and fire protection agreement between city and surrounding townships.

Housing: Housing development agreement with Southwest Minnesota Housing Partnership and Habitat for Humanity to create 10-lot housing development for moderate income and Habitat housing; and build a house for sale for moderate income buyer.

Parks and recreation: Provides community ed and summer rec programs for city and townships in the school district.

Transportation: State Highway 23 expansion project; and work with state agencies on water quality and storm water treatment and trail enhancements.


Administration: Committed to pursue collaborative opportunities with area cities and Kandiyohi County; and cultural diversity liaison and diversity competence with Kandiyohi County, Willmar School District and area businesses.

Economic development: City and county joint economic development office; Convention and Visitors Bureau and joint tourism with county.

Library: Agreement with Kandiyohi County to maintain municipal library.

Parks and recreation: Community Ed and Recreation Department consolidation with Willmar School District.

Police: Joint law enforcement center and dispatch with county, and police liaison officers in schools.

Transportation: Public transportation agreement with county.

David Little
David Little covers the Willmar City Council, Willmar Municipal Utilities and other city news.
(320) 235-1150