Weather Forecast


School board filing closes today, some districts lack full slate of candidates

WILLMAR -- People interested in running for their local school board have until 5 p.m. today to file for election. Those interested in filing may go to their school district office and file an affidavit of candidacy to be included on the Nov. 6 general election ballot. The filing fee is $2.

Filing opened July 31, and will close for school board, small city and other local elected offices today.

Some area school districts have more open seats than they have candidates so far. That was the case on Monday in the Willmar, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg, Litchfield, Minnewaska Area and Yellow Medicine East school districts.

Below is a list of the candidates who had filed by mid-afternoon on Monday. Other candidates may have filed after that time. Candidates have two days after filings close to withdraw their candidacies.


Four seats open

Candidates: Mike Reynolds (I), Willmar; Jackie Saulsbury, Willmar; Don Thorpe, Kandiyohi


Three seats open

Candidates: Jeanna Lilleberg (I), Atwater; Joel Gratz (I), Atwater; Sarah Blom, Atwater; Michelle Randt, Cosmos


Four seats open

Candidates: Jeff Guest (I), rural Benson; Bill McGeary (I), Benson; Alan Pagel (I), rural Benson; Gary Williams, rural Clontarf


Three seats open

Candidates: John Desotell (I), Jeff Benson (I), and Alan Haney (I)


Four seats open

Candidates: Steve Collins (I), Murdock; Pam Mansfield, Kerkhoven; Amber Doering, Kerkhoven


Three seats open

No filings


Three seats open

District 1: David Van Klompenburg, Clara City; Scott Ruiter, Clara City

District 3: Carol Thompton (I), Clara City

District 6: Tim Smith (I), Raymond

Minnewaska Area

Four seats open

Candidates: Bob Mork, Lowry; Jeff Holtberg, Glenwood


Three seats open

Candidates: Darin Balken (I), Montevideo; Andrew Stenson (I), Montevideo; Alan Van Ravenswaay, Montevideo

New London-Spicer

Three seats open

Candidates: Renee Nolting (I), Spicer; David Kilpatrick (I), Spicer; Naomi Johnson, New London

Renville County West

Four seats open

Candidates: Carnie Allex, Danube; Mark Molenaar (I), Renville; Ann Johnson (I), Renville; Heather McLagan, Renville


Four seats open

Candidates: Grant Velde (I), Granite Falls; Steve Zumhofe (I), Granite Falls

Incumbents are denoted by (I).