Weather Forecast


Race will be in one Kandiyohi County Commissioner district

WILLMAR –– There will be a race for commissioner in Kandiyohi County’s third district this fall.

At the close of Tuesday’s filing period, the Minnesota Secretary of State reported that Commissioner Dean Shuck, of rural Sunburg, had filed for re-election, along with Rollie Nissen, of Willmar.

The district covers primarily the northwest corner of the county, plus the northern tip of the city of Willmar and a segment of the Eagle Lake area.

In District 1, Commissioner Jim Butterfield, of Willmar, has filed for re-election. No one filed to run against him.

Kandiyohi County Sheriff Dan Hartog is seeking re-election and is running unopposed.

County Attorney Shane Baker, who was appointed in October to fill the unexpired term of Jenna Fischer, is seeking election for the office for the first time. He is also running unopposed.

Brandon Smith has filed to run for the position of soil and water supervisor from district 5, but no one filed for the supervisor position from District 2.

Carolyn Lange

A reporter for more than 30 years, Carolyn Lange covers regional news with the West Central Tribune.

(320) 894-9750