Weather Forecast


Spilseth and Thompson re-elected to leadership posts in Eighth Judicial District

By Kyle Rozendaal

WILLMAR — Judge Donald M. Spilseth will continue to serve as chief judge of Minnesota’s Eighth Judicial District for the next two years after being re-elected by a group of colleagues in June, the Minnesota Judicial Branch announced Tuesday in a news release.

Spilseth has been a part of the Eighth Judicial District since 1994 and has been chief judge since 2012. He was an attorney in private practice prior to becoming a judge.

Judge Michael J. Thompson was also re-elected as assistant chief judge of the Eighth Judicial District and will serve another two-year term in that position.

Thompson was first appointed to the bench in 2005. His most recent position prior to becoming a judge was as Meeker County attorney.

Both judges are chambered in the Kandiyohi County Courthouse in Willmar.

Spilseth has administrative authority over every court within Minnesota’s Eighth Judicial District, including assigning judges to serve in different locations around his district.

Included in the Eighth Judicial District are Big Stone, Chippewa, Grant, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Pope, Renville, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wilkin, and Yellow Medicine counties.

Voting for chief judge and assistant chief judge took place in June and the new term began on Tuesday.