Weather Forecast


Races start to shape up in elections for multiple county seats

WILLMAR -- Seven candidates filed for election for three open seats on the Kandiyohi County Board of Commissioners, and three individuals have filed to run for county attorney.

Filings closed at 5 p.m. Tuesday.

It is rare for Kandiyohi County office-holders to have competition, but this year three County Board incumbents and the current county attorney will face opposition.

There will be primary races for one commissioner race and the county attorney race because three candidates have filed for election for each office. The field will be reduced to two candidates after the Aug. 10 primary.

District 1 County Commissioner Richard Falk, of Willmar, filed for re-election as well as Jim Butterfield, of Willmar. The district includes the west side of Willmar.

District 3 County Commissioner Dean Shuck, of Sunburg, filed for re-election. He'll face challenger Doug Lindblad, of Willmar. The district includes the rural northwest section of the county as well as two precincts in the Willmar city limits that include the Pheasant Run area and a slice of northeast Willmar that includes the Eagle's Landing area.

District 5 County Commissioner Harlan Madsen, of Lake Lillian, filed for re-election. He'll face two challengers in the primary: John Cunningham and Ron Sammons, both of Atwater. That district includes the southern half of the county.

County Attorney Boyd Beccue has filed for re-election, and Jennifer "Jenna" Fischer and Bradley Junkermeier also have filed for election to that office. That race will also be subject to a primary election.

County Auditor Sam Modderman, County Recorder Julie Kalkbrenner and County Sheriff Dan Hartog filed for re-election. There are no challengers in those races.

Terry Schaefer filed for soil and water supervisor from District 2 and Brandon Smith filed for the position from District 5.

Carolyn Lange

A reporter for more than 30 years, Carolyn Lange covers regional news with the West Central Tribune.

(320) 894-9750