Weather Forecast


Finalists named for Eighth District judgeship

ST. PAUL -- The Commission on Judicial Selection announced Friday it is recommending four candidates to Gov. Mark Dayton for consideration to fill the current vacancy in Minnesota's Eighth Judicial District.

District Judge Peter A. Hoff retired earlier this year, leaving a vacancy for a district judgeship chambered in the northern area of the district, which includes the counties of Big Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Traverse and Wilkin.

The finalists include Grant County Attorney Justin Anderson, Stevens County Attorney Charles Glasrud, Yellow Medicine County Attorney Keith Helgeson and Thomas Van Hon, an assistant public defender for the State of Minnesota Board of Public Defense.

Minnesota's Eighth Judicial District includes the counties of Big Stone, Chippewa, Grant, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Meeker, Pope, Renville, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine.

According to a news release from the Commission, an announcement of the appointment will be made following a rigorous interview process over the next few weeks.